On July 22, 2006  the 2006 Team Canada Men's Field Lacrosse Team made history by defeating the United States to win their first world lacrosse title after a 28-year drought.  This marked the sixth time Canada and the U.S. met in the World Championship match.

The 2006 version of Team Caanda was the masterpiece of Head Coach Frank Nielsen mixing youth and age with incredible talent.  Canada went trhought the round robin portion of the 2006 ILF World Championship with a single blemish, losing a buzzer-beater 13-12 to rival the Unived States. Canada defeated Japan 18-7, Australia 12-9, Iroquoise Nationals 12-8, and England 17-9; quarter-final score 27-2 over Finland and semi-final score 16-6 over the Iroquois Nationals.

The stage was set for the storybook final pitting the two best teams in the World.  Canada's last victory over the United States was ironically 38 games ago when the 1978 Canadian team took World gold defeating the United States.

Team Canada players include:

Tom Phair, Ryan Marshall, Geoff Snider, Colin Doyle, Jordan Hall, Gavin Prout, Stephen Hoar, Brodie Merrill, Chris Sanderson, Jeff Zywicki, Billy Dee Smith, Gary Gait, Steve Toll, John Grant Jr., Andy Turner, Kyle Miller, Taylor Wray, Tom Marechek, Ryan Ward, Matt Vinc, Shawn WIlliams , Jim Moss and Chris Seller.

Team Canada Staff include;

Bill Hicks (Team Manager), Larry Dean (General Manager);

Head Coach - Frank Nielsen; Assistant Coaches - David Huntly, Ed Comeau, Randy Mearns and Jeff Gombar;

Athletic Therapists - Heather Griffiths and Dave Murray; Equipment Managers - Rob Zinck, Paul Wade and Davis Laporte.

Team Canada Men\'s Field 2006 (supplemental)