New Westminster, BC – The Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame is proud to announce its 2018 class of inductees, which includes players Bill Squire, Brian Hall, Jason Wulder and Jim Lynch, veteran Jim Squires, builders Dan Mattinson and Edward Howe Jr., along with the 1996-2007 Junior 'A' Burnaby Lakers.

These new inductees bring the total number honoured in lacrosse's national shrine to 528 - 155 Builders, 320 Players and 53 Veterans (those who played in 1980 or before). There are also 21 teams inducted under the Team category.

The formal induction banquet and ceremonies will be held Saturday, October 27, 2018 at the Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame in the ANVIL Centre in New Westminster, British Columbia.

The Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame's class of 2018 includes:

Bill Squire (Player, Deceased)

Bill Squire had an outstanding and long 18-year career in Senior A and B lacrosse competition. Over the course of three decades (1964-1982), Squire played for Ohsweken, Brantford, Detroit, Six Nations, and the Toronto Tomahawks and Montreal Quebecois of the original National Lacrosse League. He won a President’s Cup in ’67 with Ohsweken, a Mann Cup and MVP award in ’68 as a pick-up member of the Brooklin Redmen, and a second President’s Cup and MVP trophy with Ohsweken in ’82. He was third in Ontario’s Major Series Lacrosse scoring in ’69, scoring 63 goals with 49 assists, and in ’72 with Six Nations he scored 64 goals with 58 assists. In 169 regular season Senior games he tallied 477 points and in 33 playoff games posted 79. 

Brian Hall (Player)

57-year-old Brian Hall won a Minto Cup in 1983 with Peterborough and a Mann Cup the same year as a pick-up on Peterborough’s Senior team. Hall won a second Mann Cup in 1987 as a pick-up player with the Brooklin Redmen; a Presidents Cup with Owen Sound in 1990; a Nations Cup in ’91 with Guelph of the Canadian NLL Pro Series; and Nations Cups in ’92, ’93 and ’96 with the Buffalo Bandits of Major Indoor Lacrosse League.

Jason Wulder (Player)

47-year-old Jason Wulder competed twice for the Minto Cup in 1989 and ’90 with the Richmond Outlaws and four times for the Mann Cup with the Coquitlam Adanacs, winning the title in ’01. Wulder won a Champions Cup in ’04 with the National Lacrosse League’s Calgary Roughnecks. He played a total of 17 seasons in the Western Lacrosse Association with the Adanacs and 15 seasons in the NLL with, in addition to Calgary, the New York Saints, Colorado Mammoth and Edmonton Rush. He ranks 11th all time in the WLA with 1,189 points in 408 games, and is second all time with 431 power play points. Wulder compiled 566 points in 195 NLL games. 

Jim Lynch (Player)

66-year-old Jim Lynch was an integral part of the 1979 and ’83 Mann Cup winning Victoria Shamrocks. In seven seasons with the Shamrocks and three with the Nanaimo Timbermen, he played 161 regular season games and 44 playoff games, scoring 560 points in the former and 108 in the latter - a combined average of 3.25 points per game. Lynch was an early National Lacrosse League player, playing 45 games in ’74 for the Montreal Quebecois, scoring 83 goals with 74 assists, and 41 games with 96 points in ’75 for the Philadelphia Wings.

Jim Squires (Veteran, Deceased)

Born in Oshweken, Ontario in 1939, Jim Squires was an inspirational part of the revival of indigenous lacrosse in the 1960s. Among other teams, Squires was a member of the St. Catharines Athletics in ’61 and ’62, Oshweken ’64 through ’66, Brantford ’67 and ‘69, and the National Lacrosse League’s Detroit Olympics ’68. The ’67 Brantford Warriors team, with Squires as captain, won the national Senior ‘B’ Presidents Cup. He was playing coach of the Six Nations Braves of the North American Lacrosse League in 1971 when he died in a car accident.   

Dan Mattinson (Builder)

Dan Mattinson coached Burnaby Jr. Cablevision teams to six B.C. championships and three national Minto Cup titles between 1974 and 1983. During that period his teams compiled a 219-78-6 record. In 1977, ’78 and ’79 Mattinson’s team won the Minto Cup, the first and, to date, the last Western team to win 3 straight Minto Cups.

Edward ‘Ted’ Howe, Jr. (Builder)

Ted Howe, Jr. played Minor and Junior lacrosse in St. Catharines, Ontario. He jumped into coaching in ’76 and over the next five years took Minor teams to the Ontario Championships. In the early ‘80s he was instrumental in resurrecting Junior lacrosse in St. Catharines, helping to grow the house league from three to 19 teams. He continued coaching Minor lacrosse in the ‘90s; presided over St. Catharines Masters Lacrosse; and took St. Catharines teams to American field lacrosse tournaments, winning 4 championships. From ’04 to ’08 he was Secretary of the St. Catharines Junior ‘A’ team and in ’06 was recognized by the Canadian Lacrosse Association for over 20 years of service. In 2014, he was inducted into the Ontario Lacrosse Hall of Fame. 

Burnaby Junior ‘A’ Lakers 1996–2007 (Team)

The Burnaby Jr. ‘A’ Lakers dominated Junior lacrosse in B.C. between 1996 and 2007. The team was undefeated during the ’98, ’99 and ’06 seasons and won 12 straight league championships, compiling a record of 242-26-1, on the way to national Minto Cup titles in ’98, ’00, ’02, ’04 and ‘05.

For additional information on the inductees or the induction banquet, please visit the Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame website at


About the Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame

The Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame, chartered in 1964, Honours Players, Builders and Teams through an Annual Induction Process. Induction of new members is made to preserve the memory of stars of yesteryear, but the Hall is more than a repository of names and photos of our greatest players, builders and teams; it is also the keeper of our national summer sport's history.  The Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame honours the tradition of lacrosse from its very roots, with displays honouring the First Nations through exhibits showing the game's transition into modern life.

For more information, please contact:

David Lancaster


Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame


Phone: 604-717-5522